Developers past and present

LPJ-GUESS was originally developed by Ben Smith. Others who have contributed over the years include (alphabetical list): Almut Arneth, Thanos Arvanitis, Alberte Bondeau, Nitin Chaudhary, Wolfgang Cramer, Peter Eliasson, Dieter Gerten, Thomas Hickler, Jennie Holmér, Jed Kaplan, Wolfgang Knorr, Dörte Lehsten, Veiko Lehsten, Mats Lindeskog, Wolfgang Lucht, Marion Martin, Paul Miller, Mikhail Mishurov, Johan Nord, Stefan Olin, Anneli Poska, Thomas Pugh, Colin Prentice, Anja Rammig, Sibyll Schaphoff, Guy Schurgers, Joe Siltberg, Stephen Sitch, Martin Sykes, Kirsten Thonicke, Sergey Venevsky, Rita Wania, David Wårlind, Annett Wolf, Anna Wramneby and Sönke Zaehle.


Numerous research groups around the world have adopted LPJ-GUESS for their research. The currently active community includes researchers from the following institutes, among others.

Department of Physical Geography and Ecosystem Science, Lund University, Sweden.

Institute of Meteorology and Climate Research Atmospheric Environmental Research (IMK-IFU), Garmisch-Partenkirchen, Germany.

Biodiversity and Climate Research Centre (BiK-F), Frankfurt, Germany.

School of Life Sciences, Land Surface-Atmosphere Interactions, Technical University of Munich, Germany.

Department of Geosciences and Natural Resource Management, University of Copenhagen, Denmark.

Birmingham Institute of Forest Research, University of Birmingham, United Kingdom

Department of Biological and Environmental Sciences, University of Gothenburg, Sweden.

Institute of Terrestrial Ecosystems, ETH Zurich, Switzerland.

ARVE Group, Faculty of Geosciences and the Environment, University of Lausanne, Switzerland.

School of Biological and Biomedical Sciences, Durham University, UK.

Earth and Climate Cluster, VU University Amsterdam, The Netherlands.

Earth System Science Chair, Wageningen University, The Netherlands.

Copernicus Institute of Sustainable Development, University of Utrecht, The Netherlands.

CNRS, Centre for Research and Education in Geosciences and the Environment (CEREGE), Aix-en-Provence, France.

Department of Agricultural Economics, University of Chile.

Department of Ecology, Montana State University, USA.

Plant Biology Department, University of Vermont, USA.

Desert Research Institute, Nevada, USA.

Department of Geography, University of Toronto, Canada.